MAGGIE LOVE 23

7978_397553883619340_1654527630_n (1)

 

 

1. What’s the inspiration behind your derby name / number?

When I first started training with Barcelona Roller Derby, and seeing what derby in general was about, I realized that many names were a bit feisty and had references funnily aggressive. I didn’t identify with that style, because I’m quite sweet, so I decided to give a touch of LOVE on the track.

The 23 is a very important number for me, the best moments in my life had something to do with that number, plus it is homage to Michael Jordan, the best basketball player ever.

2. Do you follow any ritual before playing a bout?

The truth is I don’t follow any ritual specifically. I just try to be calm and relaxed, I like enjoying the game and being very positive on the track. I try to give my all during the pre-bout warm-up; it’s hard for me to be on fire from the get-go.

 3. Do you have a sports background prior to roller derby?

Since I was a kid I practiced many different sports, like volley ball, running, taekwondo… But when I was a teen, I found out about in-line aggressive skating through my brother. After that I did some snowboard and I skateboarded around Barcelona, but roller derby stole my heart. I wish I had found out about it earlier!

 4. How did you discover roller derby?

A few friends met again after many years and went skating on the street. One day, skating around Barcelona, we ran into a group of girls who were training. We didn’t know about roller derby and became interested. We started researching about it and we were hooked.

5. How do you feel about having been selected to represent Spain in the Roller Derby World Cup, in Dallas 2014?

I’m on a cloud; I still can’t believe I passed the first try-outs phase! I can’t wait to start training and sharing a track with the best players in the country. It’s a very important challenge and I’m sure that it’ll be an incredible experience.

 6. Do you have any favorite songs to train / play or that remind you of roller derby?

Marina Gasolina, by Bonde do Role. It gives me positive energy.

Leave a comment